Digital Storytelling Workshop

The origins of Digital Storytelling lie in the San Francisco Bay Area in the 1990s. Inspired by the work of documentary filmmaker Ken Burns, the media producer Dana Atchley and theater educator Joe Lambert came together with a shared vision: to give everyone access to artistic expression and ignite the power of personal voices. Joe and Dana developed the now-classic 3-4 day workshop format at a time when film editing programs for amateurs didn't exist and far fewer people were computer literate! Yet they managed to develop a process that was accessible to anyone and everyone. Today, the method is embedded in quite a few fields: education, youth work, health care, environment, domestic violence, immigration, museum education and many more. As certified Digital Storytelling Facilitators, we now work largely according to the Berkeley Method and are constantly expanding it to include numerous creative and narrative methodological approaches.
In our workshops, the group process is just as important as the finished film.
Duration: 3-5 Days

Empowerment through Storytelling

In a harmonious and trusting group process, participants first unleash their own creativity and new thoughts. Inspired by these impulses, each person finds and writes his/her own story, which is taken further through collective sharing in the Story Circle.

From script to video

From start to finish, the process itself is just as important as the finished film. After facilitating an exploration through their personal worlds, we teach our participants the media skills to create their own film. Structure and composition of a good story, language and image aesthetics, image and sound editing, perception and working on one's own voice - all this is part of the process. Our process facilitators are patient, adaptable and empathetic facilitators. They are active listeners and moderators at the same time.

Celebrate success togethe

At the end of each workshop stands a 2-3 minute film for each participant and a sense of achievement. The highlight is the joint "film premiere". Whether the story is intended for an exhibition, for social media or completely private: each storyteller will learn about their possibilities and rights to consent and we lead the dialogue with the project leaders, if any. Inspiring others with your story, encouraging them to take action themselves, sharing experiences, creating solidarity ... this is also digital storytelling.

STORYTELLING SEMINARS AND KEYNOTES

Storytelling is more than a method, it's a mindset - as humans, we've been telling and sharing stories ever since we developed language and drew in caves. It was only in connection with social and strategic goals of communication from the 1990s onwards that the word "storytelling" came to be used more and more in English. In our seminars and lectures we guide you interactively and participatively through the theoretical and practical basics of good stories and help you to develop a communication strategy with storytelling.

For a half- to three-day storytelling seminar, short workshop in the context of a conference or a keynote, we arrange a free initial meeting, where we find out everything necessary about your context (fields of work, types of projects, reason for the request, etc.), the needs of the participants or the organization and the extended target groups. After that, we will make you an offer with a detailed roadmap for the seminar or the topics of the lecture, which you will review for approval.

You will find the following focal points in our seminars and lectures:

What is storytelling?

- Evolution of modes, formats, and channels of storytelling.
- Differences between storytelling and other forms of reporting.
- Of the art of listening and asking good questions.
- Finding and unearthing stories in the work context.

 

How do I make good stories?

- Ingredients of effective stories: All important aspects about actors, archetypes, peaks, turning points and arcs of tension.
- Working with well-proven storytelling models such as the 5-act structure, the hero's journey, or the actant model.

How do I use storytelling?

- From editorial plans to formats and channels: everything important to reach your target audiences where they are.
- Ethical principles : Stories are powerful tools that, misunderstood or misused, can also harm individuals. When creating and distributing stories, there are important principles to know and follow.

Story Up ⬆︎ Your Artifact

With storytelling, there are no limits to creativity. Together with artistic means of expression ranging from painting, performance, video to dance and many more, stories can be wonderfully integrated into exhibition projects and events of all kinds. We have conducted hero's journeys in exhibitions, led body performances above the roofs of Hamburg, used art objects as inspiration for our own forms of expression, enriched a traveling exhibition with video stories, or accompanied a group of people on the story trails of a small village in Vorarlberg.
Duration: between 90 minutes and 3 hours.
Depending on the project, a video recording of the action is possible.

Online experience

In small and medium-sized groups, you will embark with us on a relaxed and creative encounter with a maximum of three selected artworks in an online art space created by us. Each online experience has a different thematic focus, such as the theme of "windows" in art. The focus is on the joy of jointly contemplating the works of art and the access to one's own narrative imagination which we help to stimulate. No previous knowledge is necessary.

Exhibition

In small and medium-sized groups, you will join us on a relaxed and creative encounter with a maximum of three selected artworks from a specific exhibition in the Düsseldorf-Cologne-Bonn area. The main focus is on the joy of jointly contemplating the works of art and the access to your own narrative imagination, which we help to stimulate. No previous knowledge is necessary.

Individual request

Would you like to spark new creativity in your team? Or strengthen your team spirit with an exciting and personal experience? Talk to us about your idea and your needs, we will be happy to develop an individual intervention together with you!

SELF-EMPLOYMENT COACHING®

Self-employment coaching® is a registered method that is carried out in cooperation with accredited providers of employment promotion measures in accordance with SGB III and AZAV. It represents a novel approach to permanently integrate young people as well as the unemployed and people threatened by unemployment into the 1st labor market.

Self-employment coaching® is based on the idea that there is a self-determined path back into work. Based on the concept of "self-efficacy", the participants in the measures develop the conviction that they can set and achieve their own goals. The focus on skills, interests, values, and experiential knowledge, which have so far remained unused in the usual job search, turns the participants into mediators in their own cause, who become increasingly aware of their resources and limitations. As certified self-mediation coaches, we engage them on a treasure hunt for good stories from their biographies, look into pictures of the future and tackle the set goals in a planned way. On this personal hero's journey, the big and small hurdles and trials are systematically tackled and overcome. A central role is played by the group, in which participants embark on the journey together and support each other.

Target group

SVC's target group is long-term unemployed persons eligible for benefits under SGB II who are 25 years of age or older. Participants need to be activated and supported in their integration into the 1st labor market. The SVC benefits participants from the support and development profiles, as well as customers with better performance.

Duration and number of participants

The full measure is scheduled for 6 months or 26 weeks with an average number of lessons of 24 hours. However, much shorter interventions of a few weeks to an impulse workshop are also conceivable, where the objective is adapted accordingly.

OPEN BIOGRAPHY WORKSHOP

Join us on an adventure. Dive into your own story and learn how to capture moments of your life in exciting, inspiring and meaningful short films. In telling, writing and creating a biographical short story you will find new access to yourself and to your very own power of expression.

The biography workshop is modularly structured in three parts. Each module can be booked individually and lasts 2 x 2 hours, i.e. 4 hours in total per module. The groups are small, from 5 to 10 participants, and it is possible to join at any time. The workshop can take place online or offline.

If you are leading a group yourself or would like to come with a group, please contact us at: info@storyatelier.org

Module storytelling workshop

In this module we let you live out your creativity with specific exercises and find the way to the story you want to tell. In the dynamics of the group and in concentrated work on your own, you will learn how your ideas take shape and how your memory becomes an effective text.
We will show you the most important ingredients that you need for a good story: narrative perspective, suspense, space and time, turning point, the appropriate style. The stories that are created are short and concise (300 to 450 words).

Voice & Sound Module

You come here with a finished story of about 300 to 450 words that you preferably found and wrote in the analog storytelling workshop module.
You will now learn how to make the digital sound recording of your story, where to find good music and sounds royalty-free and how to edit your sound tracks in the program "Audacity" to get a great audible result of voice, music and sound.

Digital Video History Module

If you want to go even further, you will now learn how to create a complete digital story with the film editing program Wevideo.
For this you need the finished audio file of your story and a selection of about 10-15 pictures and / or short video sequences.
We will show you how to edit your images and videos, what a storyboard is, where to find additional royalty-free images and how to edit your video in the program.
You'll also learn how to use your story effectively and responsibly: for image and marketing purposes, for awareness and education purposes, and much more.

Prices

Storytelling workshop module: 104 EUR / pers.
Module Voice & Sound: 104 EUR / pers.
Digital video storytelling module: 104 EUR / pers.
Package 3 modules: 300 EUR / pers.
Early Bird (until 30 days before): 290 EUR / pers.

The price includes all working materials as well as water and hot drinks. Each participant is responsible for his/her own catering.

Storytelling 4 Campaign

You want to start a campaign or crowdfunding for products or actions that make the world a little bit better? You need a good story and a video. Because
1. people are not so much interested in WHAT you offer, but in your vision and motivation, in short your WHY.
2. We love pictures and pay much more attention to a good picture or video than to a thousand words.
We accompany you in your project as far as you want it to go: After a non-binding initial meeting and the mutually expressed sympathy, we agree on a more in-depth briefing. This is followed by the development of your story and the storyboard. Afterwards, you can decide whether you want to make your video yourself or have it professionally shot and edited in cooperation with our freelance team of media producers.

Menu
en_GBEnglish

Digital Storytelling Workshop

Die Ursprünge von Digital Storytelling liegen in den 1990er Jahren in der Bucht von San Francisco. Inspiriert durch die Arbeiten des Dokumentarfilmers Ken Burns wirkten der Medienproduzent Dana Atchley und der Theaterpädagoge Joe Lambert zusammen. Ihre Vision: Jedem einen Zugang zu künstlerischem Ausdruck verschaffen und die Kraft der persönlichen Stimmen entfachen. Joe und Dana entwickelten das Format zu einer Zeit, als Filmschnittprogramme für Laien nicht existierten und viel weniger Menschen mit Computern umgehen konnten! Dennoch schafften sie es, einen Prozess zu entwickeln, der für jede und jeden zugänglich ist. Heute ist die Methode in etlichen Bereichen verankert: Bildung und Erziehung, Jugendarbeit, Gesundheitswesen, Umwelt, häusliche Gewalt, Migration, Museumspädagogik u.v.m. Als zertifizierte Digital Storytelling Prozessbegleiterinnen arbeiten wir nach der Berkeley-Methode, kombinieren und erweitern sie ständig um weitere kreative Ansätze.
In unseren Workshops ist der Gruppenprozess genauso wichtig wie der fertige Film.
Dauer: 3-5 Tage

Empowerment durch Storytelling

In einem harmonischen und vertrauensvollen Gruppenprozess setzen die Teilnehmenden zunächst die eigene Kreativität und neue Gedanken frei. Angeregt durch diese Impulse, findet und schreibt jede/r eine eigene Geschichte, die durch das kollektive Teilen im Story Circle weitergebracht wird.

Vom Script zum Video

Nach der Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Lebenswelt vermitteln wir unseren TeilnehmerInnen die Medienkompetenz zur Erstellung ihres eigenen Films. Struktur und Aufbau einer guten Geschichte, Sprach- und Bildästhetik, Bild- und Tonbearbeitung, Wahrnehmung und Arbeit an der eigenen Stimme – all das gehört dazu. Wir arbeiten geduldig, anpassungsfähig und einfühlsam, sind zugleich aktive ZuhörerInnen und ModeratorInnen.

Gemeinsam Erfolg erleben

Am Ende eines jeden Workshops steht ein 2-3 minütiger Film und ein Erfolgserlebnis. Höhepunkt ist die gemeinsame „Filmpremiere“. Ob die Geschichte für eine Ausstellung, für die sozialen Medien oder ganz privat bestimmt ist: wir klären die einzelnen Personen über ihre Rechte auf und führen den Dialog mit den gegebenenfalls vorhandenen Projektleitern. Andere Menschen mit Geschichten inspirieren, dazu ermutigen, selbst aktiv zu werden, Erfahrungen austauschen, Solidarität schaffen … auch das ist Digital Storytelling.

Storytelling Seminare und Vorträge

Vorab gesagt: Storytelling ist keine Methode, sondern ein Mindset – wir haben uns als Menschen, seit wir die Sprache entwickelt und in Höhlen gezeichnet haben, schon immer Geschichten erzählt und weitergegeben. Erst in Verbindung mit sozialen und strategischen Zielen der Kommunikation ab den 1990er Jahren kam der Begriff „Storytelling“ im Englischen immer mehr zum Tragen. In unseren Seminaren und Vorträgen führen wir Euch interaktiv und partizipativ durch die theoretischen und praktischen Grundlagen von guten Geschichten und helfen Euch dabei, eine Kommunikationsstrategie mit Storytelling zu entwickeln.

Für ein halb bis dreitägiges Storytelling Seminar, Kurzworkshop im Rahmen einer Konferenz oder einen Vortrag vereinbaren wir ein kostenloses Erstgespräch, wo wir alles Nötige über den Kontext (Arbeitsfelder, Projektarten, Anlass der Anfrage etc.), die Bedürfnisse der TeilnehmerInnen bzw. der Organisation und der erweiterten Zielgruppen in Erfahrung bringen. Danach erstellen wir Dir ein Angebot mit dem detaillierten Fahrplan für das Seminar oder die Themen des Vortrags, den Du noch einmal prüfst und und absegnest.

Folgende Schwerpunkte findest Du in unseren Seminaren und Vorträgen:

Was ist Storytelling?

– Entwicklung der Arten, Formate und Kanäle des Storytelling
– Unterschiede zwischen Storytelling und anderen Formen der Berichterstattung
– Von der Kunst des Zuhörens und der guten Fragen.
– Geschichten im Arbeitskontext finden und heben.

 

Wie mache ich gute Geschichten?

– Zutaten von wirkungsvollen Geschichte: Alles wichtige über Akteure, Archetypen, Fallhöhen, Wendepunkte und Spannungsbögen.
– Arbeiten mit bewährten Storytelling-Modellen wie der 5 Akte-Struktur, der Heldenreise oder dem Aktanten-Modell?

Wie nutze ich Storytelling?

– Von Redaktionsplänen über Formate und Kanäle: alles Wichtige, um Deine Zielgruppen dort zu erreichen, wo sie sind.
– Ethische Grundsätze : Geschichten sind machtvolle Instrumente, die falsch verstanden oder eingesetzt, Personen auch schaden können. Bei der Erstellung und Verbreitung von Geschichten sind wichtige Grundsätze zu kennen und zu beachten.

Story Up ⬆︎ Your Artifact

Bei Storytelling sind der Kreativität keine Grenzen gesetzt. Zusammen mit künstlerischen Ausdrucksmitteln aus Malerei, Performance, Video, Tanz uvm. lassen sich Geschichten wunderbar in Ausstellungsprojekte und Events aller Art einbinden. Wir haben mit unseren Aktionen Heldenreisen in Ausstellungen durchgeführt, Bodyperformances über den Dächern von Hamburg angeleitet, Kunstobjekte als Inspiration für eigene Ausdrucksformen genutzt, mit Videogeschichten eine Wanderausstellung bereichert oder eine Gruppe an Menschen auf den Geschichts-Pfaden eines kleinen Dorfes im Vorarlberg begleitet.
Dauer: zwischen 90 Minuten und 3 Stunden.
Je nach Projekt ist ein Videoschnitt der Aktion möglich.

Online-Erlebnis

In kleinen und mittleren Gruppen begibst Du Dich mit uns auf eine ganz entspannte und kreative Begegnung mit maximal drei ausgewählten Kunstwerken in einem von uns gestalteten Online-Kunstraum. Jedes Online-Erlebnis hat einen anderen thematischen Fokus, wie z.B. das Thema “Fenster” in der Kunst. Im Vordergrund stehen die Freude am gemeinsamen Betrachten und der von uns mit angeregte Zugang zur eigenen erzählerischen Fantasie. Es sind keine Vorkenntnisse nötig.

Ausstellung

In kleinen und mittleren Gruppen begibst Du Dich mit uns auf eine ganz entspannte und kreative Begegnung mit maximal drei ausgewählten Kunstwerken einer konkreten Ausstellung im Großraum Düsseldorf-Köln-Bonn. Im Vordergrund stehen die Freude am gemeinsamen Betrachten und der von uns mit angeregte Zugang zur eigenen erzählerischen Fantasie. Es sind keine Vorkenntnisse nötig.

Individuelle Anfrage

Du möchtest in Deinem Team die Kreativität neu entfachen? Oder den Zusammenhalt mit einem zugleich spannenden und persönlichen Erlebnis stärken? Sprich uns gern auf Deine Idee und Deine Bedürfnisse an, wir entwickeln gern zusammen mit Dir eine individuelle Intervention!

Selbstvermittlungscoaching®

Das Selbstvermittlungscoaching® ist eine registrierte Methode, die in Kooperation mit akkreditierten Trägern von Maßnahmen zur Arbeitsförderung nach SGB III und AZAV durchgeführt wird. Sie stellt einen neuartigen Ansatz dar, um Jugendliche sowie Arbeitslose und von Arbeitslosigkeit bedrohte Menschen dauerhaft in den 1. Arbeitsmarkt zu integrieren.

Das Selbstvermittlungscoaching® setzt darauf, dass es einen selbstbestimmten Weg zurück in Arbeit gibt. Basierend auf dem Konzept der „Selbstwirksamkeit“ entwickeln die Teilnehmer(innen) der Maßnahmen die Überzeugung, sich selbst Ziele setzen und erreichen zu können. Der Fokus auf Fähigkeiten, Interessen, Werten, und Erfahrungswissen, das bislang bei der üblichen Arbeitssuche ungenutzt blieb, macht aus den Teilnehmenden Vermittler in eigener Sache, die sich ihrer Ressourcen und Grenzen zunehmend bewusst werden. Als zertifizierte Selbstvermittlungscoach gehen wir mit ihnen auf Schatzsuche nach guten Geschichten aus der Biographie, schauen in Zukunftsbilder und packen die gesteckten Ziel planvoll an. Auf dieser persönlichen Heldenreise werden die großen und kleinen Hürden und Prüfungen systematisch angegangen und überwunden. Eine zentrale Rolle spielt dabei die Gruppe, in der sich die Teilnehmenden gemeinsam auf die Reise begeben und gegenseitig unterstützen.

Zielgruppe

Zielgruppe von SVC sind Langzeitarbeitslose erwerbsfähige Leistungsberechtigte im SGB II ab 25 Jahren. Teilnehmer/-innen weisen einen Aktivierungs- und Unterstützungsbedarf bei der Integration in den 1. Arbeitsmarkt auf. Vom SVC profitieren Teilnehmende aus den Profillagen Förder- bzw. Entwicklungsprofil, aber auch leistungsstärkere Kundinnen und Kunden.

Dauer und Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

Die Maßnahme ist in vollem Umfang auf 6 Monate bzw. 26 Wochen angelegt mit einer durchschnittlichen Unterrichtszahl von 24 Stunden. Es sind jedoch auch viel kürzere Interventionen von wenigen Wochen bis hin zum Impulsworkshop denkbar, bei denen die Zielsetzung entsprechend angepasst wird.

Offene Biografie-Werkstatt

Begebe Dich mit uns auf ein Abenteuer. Tauche ein in Deine eigene Geschichte und lerne, wie Du Momente Deines Lebens in spannende, lehrreiche und sinnstiftende Kurzfilme verpacken kannst. Im Erzählen, Schreiben und Gestalten einer biographischen Kurzerzählung findest Du neue Zugänge zu Dir selbst und zu Deiner ganz eigenen Ausdruckskraft.

Die Biografie-Werkstatt ist modular in drei Teile aufgebaut. Jedes Modul ist einzel buchbar und dauert jeweils 2 x 2 Stunden, also 4 Stunden insgesamt pro Modul. Es sind kleine Gruppen von 5 bis 10 Teilnehmern, ein Einstieg ist jederzeit möglich. Die Werkstatt bieten wir sowohl online als offline an. Informiere Dich bei den anstehenden Terminen auf der Startseite oder klicke auf den Button am Ende dieses Abschnittes.

Wenn Du selbst eine Gruppe leitest oder mit einer Gruppe kommen möchtest, so schreibe uns gern an: info@storyatelier.org

Modul analoge Erzählwerkstatt

In diesem Modul lassen wir Dich mit gezielten Übungen Deine Kreativität ausleben und den Weg zu der Geschichte finden, die Du erzählen möchtest. Du erfährst in der Dynamik der Gruppe und in konzentrierter Eigenarbeit, wie Deine Ideen Gestalt annehmen und wie aus Deiner Erinnerung ein wirkungsvoller Text wird.
Du bekommst dabei von uns die wichtigsten Zutaten gezeigt, die Du für eine gute Geschichte brauchst: Erzählperspektive, Spannungsbogen, Raum und Zeit, Wendepunkt, der passende Stil. Die Geschichten, die entstehen, sind kurz und prägnant (300 bis 450 Wörter).

Modul Stimme & Sound

Hierher kommst Du mit einer fertigen Geschichte von ca. 300 bis 450 Wörter, die Du vorzugsweise im Modul analoge Erzählwerkstatt gefunden und geschrieben hast.
Du lernst nun, wie Du die digitale Tonaufnahme Deiner Geschichte machst, wo Du gute Musik und Sounds lizenzfrei findest und wie Du Deine Tonspuren im Programm „Audacity“ bearbeiten kannst, um ein tolles, hörbares Ergebnis aus Stimme, Musik und Sound zu erzielen.

Modul digitale Videogeschichte

Wer noch weitergehen möchte, lernt nun wie eine vollständige Digitale Geschichte mit dem Filmschnitt-Programm Wevideo entsteht.
Hierfür brauchst Du die fertig erstellte Audiodatei Deiner Geschichte und eine Auswahl an ca. 10-15 Bildern und / oder kurzen Videosequenzen.
Wir zeigen Dir, wie Du Deine Bilder und Videos bearbeiten kannst, was ein Storyboard ist, wo Du zusätzliches lizenzfreies Bildmaterial finden kannst und wie Du Dein Video im Programm schneidest.
Außerdem lernst Du, wie Du Deine Geschichte wirkungsvoll und verantwortungsbewusst einsetzen kannst: für Image- und Marketingzwecke, für Sensibilisierungs- und Aufklärungszwecke und vieles mehr.

Preise

Modul Erzählwerkstatt: 104 EUR / Pers.
Modul Stimme & Sound: 104 EUR / Pers.
Modul Digitale Videogeschichte: 104 EUR / Pers.
Paket 3 Module: 300 EUR / Pers.
Early Bird (bis 30 Tage vorher): 290 EUR / Pers.

Im Preis beinhaltet sind sämtliche Arbeitsmaterialien sowie Wasser und Heißgetränke. Für sonstige Verpflegung sorgt jede/r selbst.

Storytelling 4 Campaign

Du willst eine Kampagne oder ein Crowdfunding starten für Produkte oder Aktionen, die die Welt ein Stückchen besser machen? Dafür brauchst Du eine gute Story und ein Video. Denn
1. Menschen begeistern sich weniger für das, WAS du anbietest, sondern für Deine Vision und Motivation, kurz Dein WARUM (mehr Infos dazu zum Beispiel bei Simon Sinek, The Golden Circle).
2. Wir lieben Bilder und schenken einem guten Bild oder Video weit mehr Aufmerksamkeit als tausend Worten.
Wir begleiten Dich in Deinem Vorhaben so weit, wie Du es haben möchtest: Nach einem unverbindlichen Erstgespräch und der gegenseitig bekundeten Sympathie vereinbaren wir ein vertiefendes Briefing. Danach erfolgt die Entwicklung Deiner Story und des Storyboards. Anschließend kannst Du entscheiden, ob Du Dein Video selber machst oder es in Kooperation mit unserem freien Team an Medienproduzenten professionell drehen und schneiden lassen willst.

Menü
de_DEGerman